Latest news

Congratulations to Josh & Elana Thurston-Milgrom

June 22, 2008

Congratulations to my children, Josh and Elana Thurston-Milgrom.

Josh, who graduated from the University of Chicago in June, received the Leonard B Meyers Prize for the best Bachelor’s Thesis in the Department of Music at the University of Chicago. His thesis, entitled “Okonkolo: The Short/Long Theory of West African Rhythm,” argues that standard Western notation, with its binary basis, cannot adequately notate the rhythms of West African music, but that an alternative short/long notation can do the job.

Elana earned her Master of Arts in June from the University of Texas at Austin. Her thesis, “The Czech Holocaust Novel, Barbarism, Hope and Death: A Comparative Reading of Pan Theodor Mundstock and Život s Hvězdou,” explores the relationship of the Czech Holocaust novel to Holocaust literature in general and the comparative reading of the novels Život s Hvězdou by Jiří Weil and Pan Theodor Mundstock by Ladislav Fuks. The two novels focus on the beginning stages of WWII in the occupation of Prague by the Nazis, and the individualized experiences of the Jewish protagonists. It is because these novels focus on the pre-war period that they can give remarkable and effective portrayals of the Holocaust and the experiences of its victims.

Milgrom Wins Nemmers Prize

April 22, 2008

Northwestern University announced today that Paul Milgrom has been awarded the 2007-08 Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize in economics “for contributions dramatically expanding the understanding of the role of information and incentives in a variety of settings, including auctions, the theory of the firm, and oligopolistic markets.” The award, which is made biennially, includes a cash prize of $150,000. The Nemmers Prize Seminar and Conference will be held on November 5-6, 2009.

Sahand Rabbani Wins Sterling & Terman Prizes

April 19, 2008

Congratulations to my Stanford undergraduate mentee, Sahand Rabbani, who today received a Wallace Sterling Prize for ranking in the top 25 graduating seniors in the College of Humanities and Sciences. This is particularly impressive because Sahand has taken two simultaneous bachelor’s degrees in economics and electrical engineering. Besides the Wallace Sterling Award, he has also won a Terman Prize, which is granted to the top 5% of the graduating seniors in the College of Engineering. Sahand was the only student to win both of these honors.

Yeon-Koo Che Wins Cho Award

April 4, 2008

Congratulations to my 1991 Stanford dissertation advisee, Yeon-Koo Che, who has “been selected as the first recipient of the Cho Award in Economics. The Cho Award is given to the economist whose academic contribution is most highly significant. It is awarded to Korean economists or foreign economists who contribute to development of economics in Korea. The Award has been established on the fund donated by Mr. Rakkyo Cho, an alumnus of Yonsei University, School of Economics. It is awarded by the President of Yonsei University, and the prize amount is 50,000,000 Korean won.”

Susan Athey and Joshua Gans Win Highest Honors

April 1, 2008

Congratulations to two of my Stanford dissertation advisees from 1995, who have just won very major honors:

  • Susan Athey, for winning the 2007 John Bates Clark medal of the American Economic Association, which “is awarded biennially to that American economist under the age of forty who is adjudged to have made the most significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge.” Athey is the first woman to win this extremely prestigious award.
  • Joshua Gans, for winning the 2007 Australian Young Economist Award of the Economic Society of Australia, which is awarded biennially to “honour that Australian economist under the age of forty who is deemed to have made a significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge.”